The Scourged: An army and art project taking shape

Here’s some hobby journal for ya.

The Seattle GT, Conquest NW ( http://conquestnw.avalongamecon.com/ ) is coming up. It has an expensive entry fee and the lists will be 2,000 points.  I’m not sure if I am going but if my crew from the Bay Area comes up I’ll have to go.  I don’t want to play against some of the hyper competitive douches that I know will attend, but I know the problem players are in the minority.

It’s time to figure out what to take. Even if I skip the GT there is a TSHFT for 1850 pts. coming up in march.  My Orks are tempting since they would be easy to finish painting but something else is calling to me. The Space Wolves codex is great! It is what the Chaos codex should have been. I am hard at work making a Tzeentch list using the SW ‘dex, focusing on calvary but otherwise balanced. It’s going to be fielded as The Scourged, tzeentch marines who hear every lie spoken by man, driving them mad. I am looking forward to all the proxy mutant conversions I can field. Stay tuned for an upcoming article featuring conversions of chaos hounds, and scenic basing.

For my HQ I am looking at Canis Wolfborn.  This is a calvary heavy list and I need a synergetic leader for that.   “Canis” will lead the hounds, I will probably have two units of fenris wolves, and one TW unit. I was originally going to go with a thunderwolf riding wolf lord or battle leader, but Canis is a bargain when compared to a calvary wolf lord.  The only problem is he has no invulnerable save, but a native toughness 5 helps which the wolflord can’t get. Rending STR5, I5 wolf claws and a bajillion attacks will hurt, especially if some of his wolf horde survives. Fenris Wolves get Ld 8 if he is close enough, and get leadership re-rolls if close to a thunderwolf calvary unit.  I will keep my calvary together so that even if a chunk is taken out some of it will should the enemy turn 2 or 3.

This is a Tzeentch list, so I need a sorceror. A Runepriest with Living Lightning and Jaws of the World Wolf fits the bill.  I like the 10 point pet he can get, but who knows if I can spare 10 points. I don’t have a solid plan for this fellow but he will most likely lead some grey hunters and provide fire support.

Yay, fast attack. There are so many juicy options here.  The fast attack sections of the new IG, SM and SW codexes make the Ork and Chaos books cry. I’m looking at two units of chaos hounds / fenris wolves (counting as troops but not scoring); one or two units of chaos spawn / TWC; and one or two “land speeeders” modeled as large discs of tzeencth with daemonic riders.  The hounds just need finishing touches on the sculpting, the spawn are finished but need larger bases, and the discs I have barely begun.

Troops will be a mixed bag, I definitely want some grey hunters in rhinos and a lascannon razorback. These will be great for basic objective holding units. They can threaten vehicles and wipe out lesser infantry. I have 2 rhinos to paint and one to build as a chaos razorback. My Word Bearers models were going to get the rhinos, but they will have to content themselves with their one rhino… and borrow from the world eaters if in desperate need. I have plenty of Scourged marines assembled and primered, and I added cityfight pieces to their bases.

I can’t decide if I am doing Blood claws in a land raider or not. I want to use my possessed models, I might just stick one unit in a rhino and call it a day. I don’t really have a spare land raider except for the one I was planning to paint as slaanesh. Stelek from YTTH claims you should do either 2 land raiders or none in a tournament setting. If I don’t take a LR I save a lot of points and two is out of the question.  It is neither sporting nor fluffy nor affordable, and I want to showcase my mutation conversions more so than vehicle mods.

I’ll probably take a vindicator and a dakka pred for heavy support, although I may throw in my lascannon fest pred as well, especially if I go without a landraider.

I really want a dread but I don’t have the points or the model really. It would be a fun conversion to do, especially if I do a bio-mech monstrosity.

My actual Space Wolves army will not be so radical, and I’ll field it closer to a vanilla marine force.  I try to avoid spending much money on my SW but I did get a nice new wolf pack box for my birthday. I am going to refurbish my models and get them in shape, using some new bits and paint touch-ups.  Those new SW terminators look so nice but at $10 a piece they are just too much, considering I have tons of old termies.

I also have Space Hulk to paint, and I still can’t decide between painting the terms as Blood Angels, Deathwing, or Space Wolves.  The genestealers are a quandry also, I am considering several paint schemes.  I could paint them bone with green details like my current models, paint them in the classic navy and purple, or do something crazy and high contrast.  We’ll see.

In other news the LATD codex is in progress.  I am transferring the data to In Design format which will enable me to make the whole document look extra snazzy, but it is taking time away from the updates.  I have a prototype cover image and plan to have some illustration and model photos in the final product.

Below is an update of the picture I posted a few months back.  Damn it is taking a long time.  I will darken the blues again but I don’t want the texturing and shading to get lost.

the scourged 4

Update: Here’s a WIP army list for 2,000 pts.

HQ
185 Canis Wolfborn
100 Rune priest; Living Lightning; Jaws of the World Wolf

ELITE

TROOPS
210 10x blood claws; Powerfist; rhino / drop pod  (They really want a LR Redeemer though)
190 10x grey hunters; 2 meltaguns; rhino
190 10x grey hunters; 2 meltaguns; rhino
150  5x  grey hunters, flamer, razorback w/ TL Lascannons
128  15x fenris wolves; cyberwolf upgrade
128  15x fenris wolves; cyberwolf upgrade

FAST
70  land speeder mm/hf
70  land speeder mm/hf
280 5x Thunderwolf calvary;  thunder hammer

HEAVY
115  Vindicator
120 Predator; autocannon turret / lascannon sponsons

Total= 1916, 64 spare points

With current models and converting, I could add:
Any kind of Predator
TWC
Dreadnought
Long Fangs
Terminator models (like for a lone wolf)
Power armor jobbers
Scouts (mutants!)

EDIT:

List #2 is below in the comments, and here is list #3 and #4:

HQ
185    Canis Wolfborn
100    Rune priest; Living Lightning; Jaws of the World Wolf,

ELITE
152    4x Wolf guard; 2 powerfists; 2 power weapons; 4 combi meltas (for grey hunters)

TROOPS
185     8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen; wolf standard; 1 melta; rhino
175     8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen;1 melta; rhino
165     5x  Grey hunters, mark of wulfen; flamer; razorback w/ TL Lascannon
165     5x  Grey hunters, mark of wulfen; flamer; razorback w/ TL Lascannon

128    15x Fenrisian wolves; cyberwolf

FAST
70    Land speeder mm/hf
280    5x Thunderwolf cavalry;  powerfist; melta bombs

HEAVY
115    Vindicator
120    Predator; autocannon / lascannon sponsons
160    5x long fangs + squad leader, 2x lascannons; 1x missile launcher; 2x heavy bolter;

2000

Version #4:

HQ
185    Canis Wolfborn
100    Rune priest; Living Lightning; Jaws of the World Wolf,

ELITE
114    3x Wolf guard; 1 powerfist; 1 power weapon; 1 mark of wulfen; 3 combi meltas; (for grey hunters)
140    Iron Priest, Thunderwolf, 3 cyberwolves

TROOPS
185     8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen; wolf standard; 1 melta; rhino
175     8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen;1 melta; rhino
165     5x  Grey hunters, mark of wulfen; flamer; razorback w/ TL Lascannons
120    15x Fenrisian wolves
80    10x Fenrisian wolves

FAST
70    Land speeder mm/hf
70    Land speeder mm/hf
230    4x Thunderwolf cavalry;  powerfist; melta bombs

HEAVY
115    Vindicator
85    Predator; autocannon / heavy bolter sponsons
165    Predator; twin-linked lascannon / lascannon sponsons

1999

About chaosgerbil

I'm an artist and hobbyist.
This entry was posted in "The Elect" Thousand Sons, Army Lists, Art, Warhammer 40K. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Scourged: An army and art project taking shape

  1. raptor1313 says:

    I believe the MM/HF pseeders are 70 a head, not 60. You can turn the heavy bolter in a HF for free, but you pay 20 for the multi-melta. Or, you can up the HB to a MM for 10 and buy a heavy flamer for 10. Any way you do it, it’s 70 points.

    Past that, I’d really look into finding points to slap another HQ in there to lead the other squad of Fenrisian Wolves. However, he’d be 115 + weapons (I’d lean towards Frost Blade + Storm Shield, get yourself a heap of S6 power weapon attacks on that cav charge.

    The vindy’s asking to scatter onto your advancing wolves, which is not necessarily a good thing. I figure your basic idea is to advance and hid the wolves behind Rhinos and such for cover, but…still, getting into the enemy’s lines and trying to lob Vindi shells is just…yeah.

    Here’s a thought. Drop the Vindicator. 179 free. Drop the Las-back to a Rhino and slap Mr. Rune Priest in there. 224 free. Drop the Rhino for the Blood Claws. 259 free. Grab Redeemer + pintle MM. 9 points free.

    It gets you that Land Raider, and you could always try to scrounge a couple points from somewhere and get it up to a Crusadoer, then use the Rhinos as a screen if needed.

    • chaosgerbil says:

      I’ve decided not to go with a Landraider. I have so many other things that I want to field. I want to showcase my modeling and painting which works better with TWC and fenrisian wolves than a LR. The LR model I have is converted for Slaanesh and I can’t afford any more. Having one land raider with assaulters is apparently pretty common in my area. Besides Stelek claimed you should only take 2-3 landraiders if you take any.

  2. chaosgerbil says:

    Thanks for the post, you have some good ideas there. I don’t have a LRR model but I do have a LR I was going to paint up as Slaaneshi, but it might be sacrificed to Tzeentch.

    I made some modifications to the list before your post, here is where it currently stands:

    HQ
    185 Canis Wolfborn
    100 Rune priest; Living Lightning; Jaws of the World Wolf,

    ELITE
    119 3x Wolf guard; 2 powerfists; 1 power weapon; 3 combi meltas (for grey hunters)
    93 5x Wolf scouts; sniper rifle; mark of wulfen;

    TROOPS
    175 8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen;1 melta; rhino
    175 8x Grey hunters; mark of wulfen;1 melta; rhino
    165 5x Grey hunters, mark of wulfen; flamer; razorback w/ TL Lascannon
    128 15x Fenrisian wolves; cyberwolf
    120 15x Fenrisian wolves;

    FAST
    70 Land speeder mm/hf
    70 Land speeder mm/hf
    280 5x Thunderwolf calvary; powerfist; melta bombs

    HEAVY
    115 Vindicator
    120 Predator; autocannon / lascannon sponsons
    85 Predator; autocannon / heavy bolter sponsons

    2000

Leave a Reply

