Actual Space Wolves! Musings on updating an old collection

For some reason I decided to give some attention to my long suffering ancient Space Wolf models. Note that these are actual Sons of Russ, and not my Elect of Tzeentch proxies.  I have a combination of 1st generation lead marines, old pewter + plastic Grey Hunters, and the marines that came from the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th edition box sets. I decided to retire the really ancient models from 2nd edition era and before, with a few exceptions. I had a ton of bad poses, bad glue jobs, bad flash and bad paint jobs. After a night of cutting and gluing, followed by a few hours of painting, my “fleet” of Grey Hunters is looking a lot better. I also did some work on my character models, and took an inventory of all the various special and heavy weapon models.

The project was hampered by a lack of modeling putty. I ordered Green Stuff over two months ago from Bitkingdom, along with a case and a bunch of minis. It is frustrating to have only gotten half my order so far after numerous emails and phone calls. With what I got I was able to complete my first Traitor Hydra, but the Hive Tyrant, Hive Guard, and Rat Ogres are all waiting for green stuff.

Army Builder has a new version out, with a simplified format. This will make posting army lists much easier. Like most updates, it will invalidate your old lists. AB40k updated files

Below is a list I made that is not an optimized kill-monster, but should still be perfectly capable of winning games. It is more fluffy than some lists I’ve put together. It centers around a “deathstar” unit of tooled up Wolf Guard in a Land Raider Redeemer, supporting a solid core of Grey Hunters in transports, some dreads and a speeder, and 2 units of Long Fangs. It is not a perfect list but it doesn’t need to be. I plan to keep the force together and concentrate fire, a refused flank would work well.

1850 Pts – Space Wolves Roster

1 Rune Priest @ 100 pts (…in Power Armour)
1 Rune Priest in Power Armour (Jaws of the World Wolf; Storm Caller)

1 Wolf Guard Pack @ 550 pts
2x Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Power Fist x1)
3x Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Power Weapon x1)
3x Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
1 Wolf Guard in Terminator Armour (Chain Fist; Heavy Flamer)
1 Marked Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
1 Land Raider Redeemer (Multi-Melta)

10 Grey Hunters Pack @ 190 pts (Meltagun; Meltagun; Rhino)
1 Rhino

10 Grey Hunters Pack @ 195 pts (Plasmagun; Plasmagun; Rhino)
1 Rhino

10 Grey Hunters Pack @ 225 pts (Flamer; Razorback)
1 Razorback (Twin Linked Lascannon)

1 Dreadnought @ 115 pts (Heavy Flamer)

1 Dreadnought @ 105 pts (Multi-Melta)

1 Land Speeder Squadron @ 70 pts (Multi-Melta x1; Heavy Flamer x1)

5 Long Fangs Pack @ 155 pts (Lascannon x1; Missile Launcher x4)
1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

5 Long Fangs Pack @ 145 pts (Heavy Bolter x3; Plasma Cannon x2)
1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

Total Roster Cost: 1850

Other than what is listed, I have another asscan Dread, 2 asscan speeders, plenty of obsolete marines and scouts, unpainted generic marines, tons of old school terminators, the turret for a whirlwind, jump pack skyclaws, and some other character models. Input is welcome, and pictures of the WIP wolves will be forthcoming.

About chaosgerbil

I'm an artist and hobbyist.
This entry was posted in Army Lists, Space Wolves, Warhammer 40K. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Actual Space Wolves! Musings on updating an old collection

  1. Hey CG. Las/Plas Razors are waaayyyyyy better for their cost. I can’t recall who did a great article that explained – think it was Kirby.

    Overall, I like the list, but I’m not a Wolf expert, so take some seasoning with the validity of that opinion. lol

Leave a Reply

