The Elect trial list: MSU Cavalry (with lots of Tzeencthy pics)

The Elect Of Magnus

 

This first pic, like many others was taken by my friend Rory.  The other pictures below were taken somewhat hastily, I really need to make a proper lightbox.

My life has been hectic these last few weeks. I have gotten a lot done on my orks and Tzeentch chaos marines. I also have been busy converting more traitor guard and fiddling with other projects like mutated horrors and skaven.  My crazy new defiler daemon flesh-sculpt is just about done and ready for painting.

I have some ork lists to throw out there, (hopefully not to be thrown away completely) but this post is dedicated to The Elect.

Here is my latest brainstorm. Honestly it is a Stelek inspired list and I fear the high KPs (18). It should destroy a lot though. One of my favorite parts about it is that all the pieces have a very similar points cost and roughly similar threat, somewhat confusing target priority. It may be hard to play, but should be lots of fun with 9 TWC models spread out over 6 squads. I think rushing all the Cav together is the best bet, followed by Razorbacks moving 6″ towards objectives / center field while firing. The ML Long Fangs stay put, and the MM squad is my “Wildcard.” I have had enough crap rushing into me I do not think the range is a problem.

The Elect Of Magnus, Chosen Tzeencth, Survivors of the Rubric, True Changers All)

2000 Pts – “Space Wolves” Roster

1 Wolf Lord @ 210 pts (…in Power Armour)
1 Wolf Lord in Power Armour (Belt of Russ; Thunderwolf Mount; Bolt Pistol; Frost Weapon x1; Rending in CC only; Saga of the Wolfkin)

1 Wolf Guard Pack @ 112 pts (Wolf Guard in Power Armour; Wolf Guard in Power Armour; Wolf Guard in Power Armour; Wolf Guard in Power Armour)
4 xWolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Power Weapon)

[These are given to the Grey Hunters]

5 Grey Hunters Pack @ 150 pts (Flamer; Razorback)
1 Razorback (Lascannon and TL Plasmagun)

5 Grey Hunters Pack @ 150 pts (Flamer; Razorback)
1 Razorback (Lascannon and TL Plasmagun)

5 Grey Hunters Pack @ 150 pts (Flamer; Razorback)
1 Razorback (Twin Linked Assault Cannon)

5 Grey Hunters Pack @ 140 pts (Flamer; Razorback)
1 Razorback (Twin Linked Heavy Flamer)

1 Iron Priest @ 125 pts (Thunderwolf Mount; Add Cyberwolves; Rending in CC only)
1 Servo Arm
2 Cyberwolf (Counter-attack)

1 Iron Priest @ 125 pts (Thunderwolf Mount; Add Cyberwolves; Rending in CC only)
1 Servo Arm
2 Cyberwolf (Counter-attack)

1 Thunderwolf Cavalry @ 155 pts (Thunderwolf Cavalry)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry (Storm Shield; Power Fist)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry

1 Thunderwolf Cavalry @ 155 pts (Thunderwolf Cavalry)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry (Storm Shield; Power Fist)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry

1 Thunderwolf Cavalry @ 155 pts (Thunderwolf Cavalry)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry (Storm Shield; Power Fist)
1 Thunderwolf Cavalry

5 Long Fangs Pack @ 140 pts (Missile Launcher x5)
1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

5 Long Fangs Pack @ 140 pts (Missile Launcher x5)
1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

3 Long Fangs Pack @ 90 pts (Multi-Melta x3)
1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

 

Tzeentch dakka predator

 

Tzeentch dakka predator

 

WIP Defiler: using foam clay, green stuff, floss, and horror bits

 


About chaosgerbil

I'm an artist and hobbyist.
This entry was posted in "The Elect" Thousand Sons, 40K Model Photos, Army Lists, Warhammer 40K. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Elect trial list: MSU Cavalry (with lots of Tzeencthy pics)

  1. fluger says:

    Looks pretty nasty. I like the solo TWCs in their various forms.

  2. Xaereth says:

    Cool man, I like the theme. I guess the thing I’m confused about is the 60 points you’re spending on Power Weapons for the Wolf Guard. They sort of don’t fit the theme- sure, you get 4 attacks, but without a standard in the squad you’ll only end up killing a single MEQ/round of combat, and it doesn’t help at all against walkers, etc. Seems that the points would be better spent elsewhere (i.e. wolf standard for the squad/combi-weapon for the wolf guard)

    I also don’t see a way that you’ll be able to dependably kill Land Raiders. I mean sure, you’ve got 3 S10 hammers w/ 5 attacks on the charge, but that’s no real guarantee that you’ll kill even a single LR, especially if it moved the turn prior. I play a similar list with a deathstar wolf squad, and their 11 hammer attacks on the charge have a rough time dealing with even one LR.

    Looks cool though, I’m sure it will be pretty visually impressive, and you won’t have to worry about hordes, generally. Figured I’d throw some feedback at ya, if you’re interested. If not, just disregard 🙂

    • chaosgerbil says:

      Thanks Xaereth. The list above was thrown together somewhat quickly. I enjoy brainstorming and trying out different combinations. You are right that those wolf guard are eating up a lot of points. It also is too close to Stelek’s stuff for me to run comfortably, and those small squads in razorbacks did not do well for me at TSHFT. To be honest I didn’t spam them, I brought 2 rhinos and 2 razorbacks I believe, so maybe that wasn’t a fair test.

      I now present a compromise between the list I took to TSHFT, the drop pod madness, the above list, and some other tinkering. It might be too much of a hodgepodge, back to the drawing board I guess. This was another somewhat hasty list to be honest, I will try to get a better version out soon.

      2000 Pts – Space Wolves Roster

      1 Logan Grimnar, The Great Wolf @ 275 pts

      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Combi-Meltagun x1; Power Fist x1)
      1 Wolf Guard in Power Armour (Combi-Meltagun x1; Power Fist x1)
      1 Wolf Guard in Terminator Armour (Chain Fist; Cyclone Missile Launcher)
      1 Drop Pod

      7 Grey Hunters Pack @ 205 pts (Mark of the Wulfen; Wolf Standard; Meltagun; Rhino)
      1 Grey Hunter w/ Mark of the Wulfen
      1 Rhino (Dozer Blade; Extra Armor)

      7 Grey Hunters Pack @ 205 pts (Mark of the Wulfen; Wolf Standard; Meltagun; Rhino)
      1 Grey Hunter w/ Mark of the Wulfen
      1 Rhino (Dozer Blade; Extra Armor)

      1 Dreadnought @ 105 pts (Multi-Melta)

      6 Wolf Scouts Pack @ 103 pts (Sniper Rifle x1; Meltagun)

      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry @ 115 pts (Thunderwolf Cavalry)
      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry (Power Weapon)
      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry

      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry @ 115 pts (Thunderwolf Cavalry)
      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry (Power Weapon)
      1 Thunderwolf Cavalry

      15 Fenrisian Wolf Pack @ 120 pts

      5 Long Fangs Pack @ 175 pts (Multi-Melta x5; Drop Pod)
      1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)
      1 Drop Pod

      5 Long Fangs Pack @ 155 pts (Lascannon x1; Missile Launcher x4)
      1 Squad Leader (Bolt Pistol; Close Combat Weapon)

      1 Predator @ 120 pts (Lascannon (each side))

      Total Roster Cost: 2000

  3. I like the list alot, I was working along a similar line myself.

    I find that the list works to its best streanth at 1750-1850 but it can still throw down quite a fight at 2000. Get a few test games in. It always helps to figure out how the list works.

  4. Argh. This could get confusing… Apparently I need to be very careful to make sure that I’m actually getting the correct Defiler for my Cryx.

Leave a Reply

