Orks vs. Tyranids: Which do you think is the strongest list?

One of my hobbies is playing around with Army builder, trying to min max while keeping my lists full of variety. I like variety because it is usually more fun to play with and against.

I still try to keep in mind the concepts of redundancy and saturation as you need a resilient force.

I have been reading some of the codex reviews over at 3++ is the New Black and finding useful information. It inspired me to tinker with more army lists.

Last TSHFT I did not bring Snikrot, and it was a huge mistake. Without him several of my opponents were able to castle effectively and it accounted for my 2 losses and draw. I noticed in a comment on 3++ the idea to add IC’s to Snikrot’s unit. How awesome would it be to drop in a full Kommando squad with 2 Power Klaws in it? I am being risky with this list and taking a Warboss and Mad Doc Grotsnik, which will drop in an opponenet’s backfield. Since they are ICs I could choose to attach them to Boyz squads or the Meganobz trukk if need be.

2000 Pts – Codex: Orks Roster

1 Warboss @ 100 pts (Bosspole; Cybork Body; Power Klaw;

Shoota/Skorcha Kombi-weapon)
1 Mad Dok Grotsnik @ 160 pts
14 Kommandos @ 255 pts (Burna x2)
1 Boss Snikrot

12 Lootas @ 180 pts

12 Lootas @ 180 pts

3 Killer Kans @ 150 pts (Rokkit Launcha x3)

3 Killer Kans @ 130 pts (Grotzooka x2; Skorcha x1)

2 Warbuggies @ 70 pts
(Twin Linked Rokkit Launcha)

10 Gretchin @ 40 pts
1 Runtherd

19 Boyz @ 170 pts (Big Shoota x2)
1 Boyz Nob (Bosspole; Power Klaw)

19 Boyz @ 170 pts (Big Shoota x2)
1 Boyz Nob (Bosspole; Power Klaw)

19 Boyz @ 170 pts (Big Shoota x2)
1 Boyz Nob (Bosspole; Power Klaw)

4 Meganobz @ 225 pts (Count as Troop Troops; Cybork Body;

Shoota/Skorcha Kombi-weapon x2)
1 Trukk


I am really liking this latest Nid list, and it will be an inspiration to paint my unfinished bugs. It is a showcase of Tyranid killing power combined with some dangerous troops in decent numbers. It will most likely fold to Grey Knights but should be a strong contender against other lists.

1999 Pts – Tyranids Roster

1 Tyranid Prime @ 95 pts (Lash Whip & Bonesword)

1 Tervigon @ 175 pts (Cluster Spines; Catalyst)

10 Termagant Brood @ 50 pts

3 Tyranid Warrior Brood @ 105 pts (Deathspitter)

7 Genestealer Brood @ 119 pts (Toxin Sacs)

15 Hormagaunt Brood @ 150 pts (Adrenal Glands; Toxin Sacs)

15 Hormagaunt Brood @ 150 pts (Adrenal Glands; Toxin Sacs)

1 The Doom of Malan’tai @ 140 pts (Mycetic Spore)
1 Mycetic Spore (Cluster Spines)

3 Hive Guard Brood @ 150 pts

3 Zoanthrope Brood @ 180 pts

1 Tyrannofex @ 295 pts (Rupture Cannon; Cluster Spines; Thorax

Swarm (larvae); Regeneration)

1 Trygon @ 210 pts (Adrenal Glands)

1 Mawloc @ 180 pts (Adrenal Glands)

Please let me know which you think is the stronger list, or if you have any specific quibbles.

About chaosgerbil

I'm an artist and hobbyist.
This entry was posted in 40K Model Photos, Army Lists, Orks, Tyranids, Warhammer 40K. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Orks vs. Tyranids: Which do you think is the strongest list?

  1. AbusePuppy says:

    S’up Chaos! Hopefully will catch you at the next TSHFT that rolls around, I didn’t get to chat with as many folks as I would’ve liked.

    Ork list:
    Grotsnik is rather bad, it’s too easy for opponents to drag his unit around where they want it. If you can scrape together points for an Attack Squig on the Warboss, it’s a great buy.

    I would avoid mixing weapons on the Kans- Rokkits and Grotzookas both have their merits, but keep them single-purpose. (Rokkits in one squad and Zookas in the other is fine, if not ideal.)

    I think the one Trukk with Meganobz is going to eat up a lot of fire and not really perform well; maybe try running the Meganobz as just on foot as a countercharge unit against stuff like Blood Angels or Space Wolves? Going to bike Nobz would probably be “best,” but that would mean totally new models, obv.

    Lootas are good, but I think you could use a little more fire support. Big Gunz (Kannons) seem like a good fit for the army.

    You may as well max out the Boyz squads, since they’re not in Wagons.

    Re: Tyranids
    Regen is a good buy on the Prime, since he’ll be sucking up wounds for his squad a lot.

    I think you have too many scattered units doing different things- try and adopt more focus. Figure out whether you are a shooting army or an assault army and commit to it.

    Mawloc is just worse than Trygon. Sad, but true; swap him over if you keep the assault focus.

    One each of Hive Guard, Zoeys, and Doom leaves you with very little redundancy. Zoeys on foot, especially without Onslaught, will rarely reach their target. Doom got nerfed a lot by the FAQ, but he’s still okay in an environment where you expect to see a lot of non-mech armies like TSHFT.

    The Warriors need a heavy weapon of some kind, for survivability if nothing else. I would recommend Venom Cannon, as it goes best with their Deathspitters.

    The lone Genestealer brood is not doing much on its own, and is too small to really do a lot. If you have 2×10 of them, perhaps, but that would involve a lot of shuffling around.

    Hormagaunt squads feel a little small to me for 2000pts. You’ll be absorbing a lot of casualties from shooting, you need enough to get there. And, honestly, I’ve never liked Adrenal + Toxin Hormies anyways, but a lot of people seem to. I would recommend going to at least 20 in each squad.

    If at all possible, get Adrenal and Toxin for your Tervigon- they turn it (and its babies) into genuine melee threats.

    Regen is a waste at 2000pts, there’s just too much firepower on the table to expect to be alive multiple turns after shooting.

    • chaosgerbil says:

      Thanks for the detailed comment. Which army did you play at TSHFT? Maybe I can figure out who you are. I was able to beat your friend’s genestealer swarm with my orks last TSHFT so hopefully your list-building expertise will help my list more. 😉

      Models are no problem, I can field practically anything for Orks. I have shyed away from Nob bikers because of the extreme points cost.
      The only mix on the Kanz in the same squad is a skorcha + grotzooka, I thought they would find a good overlap for targets. Plus, I don’t feel like building a new grotzooka…

      You are right that I should fit in some big guns, although Lobbas worked out so well for me last time I prefer them to Kannons.

      I don’t really need Grotsnik in the list, but he makes Meganobz a more reasonable choice. Maybe I will double up on Warbosses for lolz, and get a second scoring nob unit. In my haste to add a crazy unit I didn’t think things through about how his rage variant might mess me up, hoping to get lucky is not a good strategy.

      Nids:
      I admit I have a problem with unfocused lists, that are too equal a mix of shooting and assault. I feel like pure assault armies fail and you need some powerful shooting, especially to pop AV 10-12 transports. Hence the Hive guard. THe Zoanthropes are just all around useful and can help against tougher vehicles too. the Doom O’ Malantai is the wildcard but I want to try him out once I finish the sculpt.

      In the original list I had two units of stealers, and swapped them out for warriors at the last minute. I have tons of both oop warriors and genestealers to draw from, although the dual bonesword warriors will need to be modeled for lashes at some point.

      It turns out I have 48 painted hormagaunts, and I could drop the adrenal glands to get the points for 24 bug squads. I was really looking forward to re-rolling wounds against T4, but 2-4 pts. of upgrades on a 6 pt. model is questionable. The main objection to dropping the AG is that I need the hormagaunts to win combat since no retreat wounds really suck.

      The Mawloc I could drop, but since the model I am planning to use is a sculpted Dune inspired worm creature he wouldn’t work as another Trygon.

      Major options I could add: 2 Hive tryants (no hive guard though), tons more genestealers and warriors, a broodlord or two, about 7 ripper bases, venomthrope, spore pods, 10 gargoyles ( I wish it was 20), 2 Lictors, and maybe some termagants from my pool of babies.

      • AbusePuppy says:

        I had the somewhat-painted ‘Nids list with the two Harpies in it.

        Hah, yeah, Genestealer swarm doesn’t fare well against Orks, they just put out too many attacks.

        I think a small squad of Nob Bikers could add something to the list by virtue of being fairly tough to kill and not absurdly expensive. Four models, on bikes, with one Klaw, three Big Choppas, and a mix of other equipment (Waagh Banner, Bosspole) gives you a pretty scary combat unit for… under 250pts? Which isn’t too bad. There are other ways you could go, though.

        Lobbas are good, don’t get me wrong, but the reason I recommended Kannons is that your list’s main problem is taking out tanks and other “heavy” targets, which Lobbas won’t add much against.

        A second Warboss could work- also consider the value of a KFF Mek, who can shield you from incoming fire even when advancing through open sections of the board. If you went with the Warboss, I’d say two mid-sized squads of Nobz equipped basically like the biker Nobz above (but without bikes, obv) could work out. Meganobz are fun, but Slow and Purposeful is just too painful when they have no way to get Move Through Cover and NEED to be advancing on the enemy.

        You definitely do need shooting in a Tyranid list to break tanks, but I think your problem is you’re mixing in the wrong kinds of shooting units and in too few/too scattered of numbers.

        Zoeys are an acceptable unit against most armies, but you really need to get them into a Spore so that they actually can get across the field to do their work. Failing that, get Onslaught in there, otherwise they’ll never get in range of their targets.

        (Dual-Sword Warriors can work if you’re short on points, but it depends.)

        With Hormagaunts, I find that wounding on 4s is usually sufficient if you have a ton of bodies; you only get to reroll the ones for the first turn of combat, and rarely will you wipe something out if it had any chance of winning a fight against you. For a 25% boost in damage for one turn, you’re losing a lot of bodies and you still will be hurting if you charge into cover. I’d just rather have more mans.

        That’s unfortunate with the Mawloc. As much as I like that guy, he’s just not very good. More’s the pity because of the sculpt.

        Swapping the Prime to Tyrant + Guard is not a bad idea, but without Guard the Tyrant isn’t worth it.

        Overall:

        Add a Spore to the Zoeys. Switch Hormagaunts to Toxin and add bodies. Drop Regen from Tyrannofex. Drop Mawloc. Add Venom Cannon, Toxin, and Boneswords to Warriors. Add bodies to Genestealer squad with remaining points. (You could also avoid upgrading the Warriors as much and have two smaller ‘Stealer squads.) Not a perfect list, but a definite improvement, I think.

  2. chaosgerbil says:

    I must have talked to you, I complemented your use of LOTR fell-beasts as Harpies.

    I think my TSHFT Ork list was a pretty good foundation , and rather than doing something radical I’ll go back to it and tweak. It would be nice to get a BW for the Nobz instead of a piddly trukk, freeing up a HS slot, or allowing 2 BWs which seem more reliable.

    For the Nids I have taken your advice and present a much improved list. Once I get another 10 gargoyles maybe I can revisit the bug list, but this should get me by pretty well.

    2000 Pts – Tyranids Roster

    1 Tyranid Prime @ 115 pts (Lash Whip & Bonesword; Regeneration; Toxin Sacs)

    2 Tyranid Warrior Brood @ 160 pts (Lash Whip & Bonesword; Toxin Sacs)
    1 Tyranid Warrior (Barbed Strangler; Lash Whip & Bonesword; Toxin Sacs)

    1 Tervigon @ 175 pts (Cluster Spines; Catalyst)

    10 Termagant Brood @ 50 pts

    9 Genestealer Brood @ 153 pts (Toxin Sacs)

    22 Hormagaunt Brood @ 176 pts (Toxin Sacs)

    22 Hormagaunt Brood @ 176 pts (Toxin Sacs)

    3 Hive Guard Brood @ 150 pts

    1 The Doom of Malan’tai @ 140 pts (Mycetic Spore)
    1 Mycetic Spore (Cluster Spines)

    3 Zoanthrope Brood @ 230 pts (Mycetic Spore)
    1 Mycetic Spore (Cluster Spines)

    1 Tyrannofex @ 265 pts (Rupture Cannon; Cluster Spines; Thorax Swarm (larvae))

    1 Trygon @ 210 pts (Adrenal Glands)

    Validation Report:
    d-1. Formatting: Competition Output; c-1. File Version: 1.16 For Bug Reports/www.ab40k.org; b-1. Roster Options: Special Characters; a-1. Scenario: Normal Mission; Hive Selection: Standard Roster
    Roster satisfies all enforced validation rules

    Total Roster Cost: 2000

    Created with Army Builder – Try it for free at http://www.wolflair.com

  3. Misty says:

    Chaos Gerbil, you have been missed by Ginga and are hereto invited, nay summoned, to join the facebook group Adventurer’s Inn. Brother Lucifer and The Bard spin summons your way dearest 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I will say the ork army seems a little to infantry based if I was you bring a dakkajet and weirdboy to replace grotsnik and if you are playing objectives take wazdakka he is the much better warboss on bike and he can take warbikes as troops so they can grab objectives first and last a lot longer with a toughness higher than most units plus warbikes are meant to be shooty because they only are boyz in close combat 12 boyz is not a lot and they have dakkaguns which is better using them than being boyz in combat

    however for the tyranids I cannot comment on I do not Know how to play them jet because I just started them.

Leave a Reply

